Skip to content

Meditation

November 12, 2012

I am trying to incorporate more meditation into my practice.  Mediation isn’t easy for me, as I have mentioned.  Another issue is that  I have an active imagination. So I always tend to worry and wonder how much of what I see is due to a good imagination and how much of it is actual communication with the Kindreds.  I really do not know.

Today during my daily devotions, I chose to do a longer mediation.  I sat down under my internal tree and leaned against it.  I like to think of it as my own tree of life.  It is big enough around that I can only see one section of it at a time but small enough that if I’m sitting under it I can not see a being sitting against it just a foot away.  I think it is not perfectly round as some times my body nestles into it as if cradled.  Any way I sat down and called out to see if anyone would be interested in connecting with me.  Next thing I know, I had arms wrapped around me that almost in a hug but then I was pulled backwards into the tree and tumbled down a long chute, only to land into a pond.  I stand up to find it about hip deep and find a large leaf or lily pad on top of my head dripping water into my face.  The water was cool but not cold.  I carefully remove the leaf on my head trying not to damage it in the process and place it back down in the water.  As I wonder how to get out of the pond without doing damage, a series of stepping stones appear.  As I step on to land, I find that I’m now dry.  A bushy tailed squirrel runs up to me and chitters at me.  It starts off and returns.  I take it that I am to follow.  I’m lead down a short path and into a meadow I’ve seen before in my dreams.  A steep hill is to one side, perfect for laying on to enjoy the warmth of the sun.  The trail I’m on leads past that hill and into a forest.  I forget about the squirrel and lay down to soak up the sun.  Shortly however, the squirrel returns and coaxes me back onto my feet and back into the forest.  So I follow along only to suddenly step out into a winter scene.  As soon as I start to shiver from the cold, something warm is wrapped around me and a hat is dropped onto my head.  Comfortably warm, I start to look around and try to enjoy the winter landscape.  Trees empty of leaves, pines coated with snow and frost.  A owl is heard, a red cardinal flies by and some deer pass.  I feel the urge to move on yet want to continue to observe the frozen beauty.  I hear a crack and realize that ice has broken as spring suddenly rushes in.  The squirrel returns to lecture me on my way.  I come to another opening in the forest to see my tree from a distance.  It is large and yet seems so small at the same time.  It also seems to hold all season within its branches, one to each side.  I tend to sit on either the summer quarter or the fall quarter but there is also a spring and a winter section to the tree.  Here my mediation ends.

Not sure exactly what the  point of the meditation was, but it was an interesting adventure.  I thanked the nature kin for the experience and ended my devotions.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2012 1:05 PM

    Wow! I wish my meditations were as visionary. I end up thinking about whether I got the chicken out of the freezer for dinner, or if I forgot to get the mail. Doing a guided type visualization is something I should probably try. That’s fascinating!

    Like

    • November 12, 2012 1:19 PM

      I am a visual person so my meditations tend to be visual. This type of mediation is fairly unusual for me as I tend to over think things, not let things go, try really hard not to control, think about what needs to be done, etc. When I can let it all go, then it can be like this but usually I get one little bit before the logical mind takes over. I wonder if drinking chamomile tea before hand made any difference?

      Like

      • November 12, 2012 2:40 PM

        Please do let us know about the chamomile tea. I may have to get some. 🙂 My meditations aren’t visionary either. Mine are just me sitting in quiet and my mind at peace. I’ve never had an experience like what you’ve described, Melia, but I strive for it. How did you get to this point?

        Blessings,
        Victoria

        Like

        • November 12, 2012 3:30 PM

          Please do try the chamomile tea and let me know if it works for you or if it was just my over-active imagination at play. I have an active mind and mentally sitting quietly doesn’t work for me so I give my mind something to do and sometimes other things happen.

          Like

        • November 12, 2012 4:00 PM

          I will have to procure some, then. 🙂 That’s cool though that your mind works like that. If the person reading a guided meditation has the right voice, I have found that I am better able to see visuals and just be in a deep meditative state. Guess I need to find the right voice!

          Blessings again,
          Victoria

          Like

        • November 12, 2012 4:28 PM

          Honestly it doesn’t work this way every time… 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

