Skip to content

Thankful Day 6 – late

November 7, 2012
tags:

With watching the election results and battling this ongoing headache caused by muscle issues, I completely forgot to post this yesterday.

I am thankful for the opportunity to vote and to have the votes of me and my fellow citizens enact change in our country.  The below quote (found on Facebook) states it better than I could, being lucky enough to have grown up in this country:

Why I vote: 

I vote because I can. It really boils down to that simple sentence. 

I grew up in Apartheid South Africa. I saw people killing and dying for the right to vote. I saw how important it was to so many people. The first election I was old enough to vote in was the first truly democratic election in South Africa. It was awe-inspiring. People lined up for HOURS to vote. I had a relatively short wait of only 4 hours. They had to extend voting hours for another full day to make sure everyone got a chance to vote. I remember and I vote for all those people who died for the right.

I am a woman. It wasn’t all that long ago that women weren’t allowed to vote. I remember and I vote for the women who fought so long and hard for the right. I am an immigrant. I’ve lived in this country for 12 years, and have been a citizen for almost 3 years. I know firsthand what it feels like to live in a country where you have no voice. I remember and I vote for all those others with no voice. 

I vote because I can. And I vote because I must. It is a right I will NEVER take for granted.”  Samantha Meiring

This is why it is important to vote.  I get chills every time I read this.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

