Skip to content

11/1/12 – revised shorten ritual template

November 5, 2012

[catch-up post]

After doing the High ritual twice, I wanted to tailor the shortened ritual to be more similar.  Details found below

Shortened ADF-ritual template

1. Purification– silver the well and say:  Bounty to the well
May I be pure in thought, speech, heart and action.  Touching each area with water.
Offer some water to the muses saying:  Honor to the muses.
throw some for the outdwellers.  Be gone in peace.
Light a flame if possible saying:  I raise Hestia’s light

2. Initiating the Rite – ring bell or clap 3 times, state your purpose

3. Honoring the Earth Mother:
I honor Gaia, mother of all, the eldest of all beings,
Your heart is the hearth of the world,
all offerings come from and return to you.
Bountiful Lady, Mother of All, I honor you! (kiss to the ground/statue)

4. Recreate the Cosmos and 5. Open the Gates:  First do the Two powers attunement
Tree, great Tree, my connection to Gaia, I welcome thee. (heart opening)
Well, deep Well, my connection to Okeanos, I welcome thee. (heart opening)
Fire, bright Fire, my connection to Ouranos, I welcome thee (heart opening)
Hail Hermes, Friend of Men,
Throw wide the Gates for me again. (pour offering)
Let the Gates be opened! Imagine the Gates opening
With Honored Hermes as my guide, I have opened the gates.
I am a bridge between well and flame!
From below, from around, from above, the Mighty Kindreds are near.
Children of Gaia draw near to my fire for the Gates are open!

6. Invitation
Nature Spirits, Worldly Spirits, Spirits of Place
I reach out to you in friendship and peace,
that we may share our world in harmony.
Nature Spirits, accept my offering! (pour offering)

Grandparents, Guides and Guardians
I reach out to you, across the well.
to honor your knowledge and experiences.
Ancestors accept my offering! (pour offering)

Gods of the Land, of the Sea, of the Sky
I reach out to you, through the flame
To honor you, by whichever name you cared to be called
Divine Ones accept my offering! (pour offering)
I especially call out to [name]  and ask your blessing! (pour offering)

7. Offering – offer gifts to the fulfill the ritual intent

8. Omen – take the omen—if favorable, continue; if unfavorable, skip to 10 and try again later with other offerings or a revised perspective

9. Asking for the Blessings of food /drink and Affirmation
I gave my gifts freely to thee
May the might of the Kindreds/NAME flow
From below, from around, from above,
converging in this bless’d cup
Filling it with wisdom and love
Feel, see, and hear the blessings pouring into your cup at the Sacred Center.
May your blessings strengthen me.
Drink from the cup.
So Mote it be through Ma’at.

10. Closing the Gate(s)
Hail Hermes, Friend of Men,
Close the Gates for me again.
The Gates are closed! See the Gates closed
The Children of Gaia have withdrawn, the gates are closed
With Honored Hermes as my guide, I have closed the gates.
Hail and Farewell Hermes! (pour offering)

13. Thanking the Earth Mother
Bountiful Lady, Mother of All, I honor you! (kiss to the ground/statue)

14. Closing the Rite
Extinguish the flame:  Hestia’s light resides within me.
Offer some water to the muses saying:   Honor to the muses
Desilver the well:  Bounty of the deep resides within me.
Let all be as it was before, only better.
By the heavens above and the earth below,
the rite is ended may it lighten my heart and smooth my way
Ring bell three times.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

