Skip to content

10/30/12 – My ADF Ritual Template – Hellenic Style

November 5, 2012

[catch-up post]

Wrote up my ritual template.


My ADF Ritual Template

Purification:  In a bowl add water, salt and flaming needle of rosemary.
By water, land and flame
May I be pure in thought (touch drop to forehead)
May I be pure in speech (touch drop to tongue)
May I be pure in heart (touch drop to heart)
May I be pure in action (touch drops to hands)

Musical Beginning Signal:  ring bell 3 times to activate sacred space

Opening chant:
By land, by sea, by sky
I come, I come, I come to honor the gods
With this intent, I declare this hallowed ground,

With heart and mind and flesh and bone,
Join me now in ways of old,
Hail and welcome (3 times)

Acknowledging the Outsiders: Take the token to the threshold or boundary of the space where you are working.
Tartaros and to all forces of Chaos.
I acknowledge you
Leave this ritual in peace.

Invocation to the Muses:
Sweet voiced muses
who gladden the spirit
guide my stumbling tongue
let me be a credit to you
as I honor the Kindreds

Honoring Hestia: Light hearth lamp. Light charcoal.
Hail Hestia, Lady of the Hearth, Keeper of the Flame
Wherever you go, the gods have a home.
Enter this space, make it your own,
Give me your blessing and guidance
Hallow this right, grant each just desire.
Hail Hestia!

Honoring Gaia : Touch or kiss the ground/floor or Gaia representation
I honor Gaia, mother of all, the eldest of all beings,
for your powers birth waters and seeds of life,
for you feed all the creatures upon your bosom
whether they dwell on the land or in the sea.
Your heart is the hearth of the world,
all offerings come from and return to you.
Bountiful Lady, Mother of All, I honor you!

Ground and Center: Do the Two Powers Meditation.

Statement of Intent : Why are you doing this ritual?

Recreation of the Cosmos
Tree, great Tree
my connection to the Sidhe
Tree, great Tree
together we share Gaia
Tree, great Tree
the Joy of Now
Tree, great Tree
the Source of Life
Tree, great Tree
I honor you now (offer “heart”)

Well, deep Well
my connection to the Ancestors
Well, deep Well
my passage to Okeanos
Well, deep Well
the Wisdom of the Past
Well, deep Well
the Waters of Life
Well Deep Well
I honor you now (place silver in the cauldron, touch water to forehead)

Fire, bright fire
My connection to the Gods
Fire, bright Fire
My passage to Ouranos
Fire, bright Fire
the Warmth of Hestia
Fire, bright Fire
the Spark of Life
Fire, bright Fire
I honor you now (light supplemental candles, appreciate the warmth and light)

Hermes invocation:
Hail Hermes, Friend of Men,
Keepers of the ways between,
Throw wide the Gates for me again.
Be my guide for this rite
I honor you, Opener of Gates! (offer cinnamon on to charcoal)

Gateway Opening: Crouch down and touch the floor or ground with your hands. Feel for the Gate to the Underworld. Spread open the trap door.
Blessed Hermes, let the Gate of Okeanos be open!
Now stand upright and hold your hands out in front of you, palms facing forward. Feel for the Gate to the Otherworlds. Spread apart the door.
Blessed Hermes, let the Gate Gaia be open!
Now stand up as straight as you can with your arms reaching upwards. Feel for the Gate of the Heavens. Spread open the ceiling door.
Blessed Hermes, let the Gate of Ouranos be open!

With Honored Hermes as my guide, I have opened the gates
For I am a bridge between well and flame!
From below, from around, from above, the Mighty Kindreds are near.
Children of Gaia draw near to my fire for the Gates are open!

Invocations and Offerings to the Three Kindreds

Nature Spirits, Worldly Spirits, Spirits of Place
I call to all the beings with whom I share this world
Those of the mountains and of the sea,
Of the forests, fields and plains
Those of running and still waters,
Those of the wind and of the flame
Nature Spirits, Worldly Spirits, Spirits of Place
I reach out to you in friendship and peace,
that we may share our world in harmony.
Nature Spirits, accept my offering! (offer something unprocessed/beautiful)

Guides, Guardians and Grandparents
I call to thee who came before me in this world,
As You are Mine, so I am Yours.
Descended from Your Blood,
Descended from Your Spirit,
Descended from Your Explorations.
Grandparents, Guides and Guardians
I reach out to you, across the well.
to honor your knowledge and experiences.
Ancestors accept my offering! (offer corn meal, water, or honeyed milk)

Gods of the Land, of the Sea, of the Sky
I call to the Theoi who order my world
Khthonic Ones, Celestial Ones, First Ones and Titans
Those of the earth, below the earth and above the earth
Those of the city and those of the countryside
Those of the home and those of the wild
Those that are familiar and those that are strangers
I reach out to you, through the flame
To honor you, by whichever name you cared to be called
Divine Ones accept my offering! (offer wine, incense,  or candle)

Invocations and Offerings to the Deity(ies) of the Occasion (Key Offerings): If you are celebrating a High Day, you would invoke and offer to the Deity(ies) of the Occasion (DotO) and the Spirit of the Season here. In a non-High Day rite, this would be the appropriate time to make special offerings to your Patron Deities, special Ancestors, or allies among the Nature Spirits if desired.

Prayer of Sacrifice
With the aid of Mighty Hermes, I opened the ways
I have given freely with devotion, love and praise
Here I stand before you all with my open heart ablaze
If anything that I have done here has offended you,
If anything I have done here has been incomplete,
If anything I have done here has been improperly done,
Accept this final offering in recompense. (offer incense)
Holy Ones, Accept my offerings!

Omen: Take omen by whatever method you feel most comfortable or most appropriate for this work to learn what message the Kindreds (or in the case of a High Day rite, the DotO) have for you. If bad, offer more. If still not accepted, skip to Farewell and try again another day.

Asking for and Hallowing the Blessings: Hold your full cup before the Hallows
I gave my gifts freely to thee
May the might of the Kindreds (or/DotO) flow
From below, from around, from above,
converging in this bless’d cup
Filling it with wisdom and love
Feel, see, and hear the blessings pouring into your cup at the Sacred Center.
May your blessings strengthen me.

Affirmation of the Blessings: Drink of the cup, knowing in your heart that they have been blessed. As you drink, think about any needs you have, and feel those blessings giving you the power to meet those needs. Visualize the end result you seek and/or speak it aloud, ending with:
So mote it be through Ma’at!
Any Work Yet Undone? Yes, then do it. If no, move on. (Pencil in spontaneity here.)

Farewell to the Deity(ies) of the Occasion (if applicable): prayers of praise

Farewell to the Kindreds:
To all the Divine Ones,
I thank you for your many blessings
May our bonds of *ghosti grow ever stronger.
Hail and Farewell!

To my Guides, Guardians and Grandparents
I thank you for your many blessings
My love is yours, as I know yours is mine.
Hail and Farewell!

Nature Spirits, Worldly Spirits, Spirits of Place
I thank you for your many blessings
May we continue to share our world in peace and harmony.
Hail and Farewell!

Closing the Gates
Remember once again the feeling of being in the presence of Hermes Psychopompos, Guide of the Gods. And know that just as you had the power to open the gates, you have the power to close them as well.
Stand up as straight as you can with both of your arms reaching to the ceiling, spread apart. Feel for the open Gate to the Heavens. Bring your hands together, feeling it close
Blessed Hermes, let the Gate of Ouranos be closed!
Stand upright and hold your hands out to either side of you, palms facing out. Feel for the open Gate to the Otherworlds. Pull your hands back together, feeling the gate close.
Blessed Hermes, let the Gate of Gaia be closed!
Crouch down and touch the floor or ground with both hands spread apart. Feel for the open Gate to the Underworld. Bring your hands together, feeling the gate close.
Blessed Hermes, let the Gate of Okeanos be closed!
Stand back up saying.
The Children of Gaia have withdrawn, the gates are closed
With Honored Hermes as my guide, I have closed the gates.

Farewell to the Gatekeeper
I honor you, Opener of Gates! (offer cinnamon on to charcoal)
Thank you for your guidance and
for shutting the Gates again
Keeper of the ways between the worlds
Friend of Men, Hail Hermes!

Restoration of the Ordinary:
Fire, bright fire
Your bounty shines within me (extinguish supplemental flames)
Well, deep well
Your bounty flows within me (remove silver from the well)
Tree, great tree
Your bounty grows within me (touch hand to heart, mouth and head in respect)
Let all be as it was before, only better.

Regrounding/Centering
Take three deep breaths, and feel the powers of Earth and Sky that fill you now recede. Take a moment to reflect on the work you have done and the blessings you have received.

Thanking the Earth Mother
I honor Gaia, mother of all, the eldest of all beings,
for your powers birth waters and seeds of life,
for you feed all the creatures upon your bosom
whether they dwell on the land or in the sea.
Your heart is the hearth of the world,
all offerings come from and return to you.
Bountiful Lady, Mother of All, I honor you!
Touch or kiss the ground/floor or Gaia representation

Thanking the Hearth Goddess
Hail Hestia, Lady of the Hearth, Keeper of the Flame
Wherever you go, the gods have a home.
Enter this space, make it your own,
Smile on my rite and accept my offerings
give any unconsumed offerings to fire if possible
Bless me with peace and your goodwill.
With thanks, I say Hail and Farewell!
Extinguish the hearth lamp.

Thanking the Muses:
Sweet voiced muses
who gladden the spirit
any blessings received
are a credit to your gifts
Hail and Farewell!

Closing Prayer:
By the heavens above and the earth below
This rite has ended.
May it lighten my heart and smooth my way.
So mote it be through Ma’at.

Musical Ending Signal: ring bell three times

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

