Skip to content

10/24/12 – Wheel of the Year by MJD

November 5, 2012

[catch-up post]

After being made aware of the The ADF Dedicant Path Through the Wheel of the Year PDF (hence forth abbreviated as WOTY) by Rev. Michael J Dangler (which can found on the ADF site in the members area I believe) , I am finding some relief at having a method of moving forward on this.

Why have you chosen to take the first steps on the Dedicant Path? Because I felt like I was in a rut and did not know which way to go. I had recently heard, several different times, about ADF and the DP. So after several different divination consultations, decided this was the best way to go forward.

Is this a step on your path, or will this become the Path itself? I do not know. It is a way to move forward.

What do you expect to learn? Whatever I missed in my solitary, hit and miss journey up to now.

What would you like to get out of this journey? A methodology, a clarity on that I’ve been missing, a tradition that is powerful and empowering, a sense of fellowship

Do you know where this path will take you? No. It will be an adventure.

If you have just joined ADF, why have you chosen to work on this immediately? Because I joined the ADF for the guided learning possibilities. To fill in my personal gaps.

Does it look hard or easy? It looks scary. I panic when I think about everything that needs to be done so I try not to think about it. WOTY method should help with that panic.

Which requirements appear to be difficult to you now, and which appear to be easy? The mental discipline…to me that seems to equal meditation which I do rather poorly at.

After doing some reading of WotY, I liked the idea of saying a version of the first oath daily so I’m adding it to my daily devotions along with a few changes I’ve made. Below for details.

Silver the Well: Bounty to the Deep
Light the Flame: I raise Hestia’s light
Water to forehead, center, focus on flame, 3 breaths:
I am a bridge between well and flame
Raise cup, say then drink:
I drink to the Ancestors
I drink to the Nobles
I drink to the Gods
I, Aj, before the Kindreds declare myself
a seeker of the old ways, a worshipper of the Gods.
I willingly walk the Druid’s Way.
I vow to seek virtue, to do right by others,
to keep the rites and works that call to me.
I vow to continue my studies
which fill my mind with the truth of this path.
These things I swear to the Gods,
with all the Kindreds as my witness.
So mote it be through Ma’at.
To all Kindreds I drink this cup of fellowship (drain cup)
Pause for any messages
Extinguish flame: Hestia’s light rises within
Remove Silver: Bounty of the deep flows within
By the Heaven’s above and the world below
May this lighten my heart and smooth my way
So mote it be through Ma’at.

I then offer some of the well water with a short prayer to Hestia (main altar), Gaia (main altar), Zeus , My Agathos Daimon (in pantry), my Lady, Hermes (front door) and leave the remaining cup of water on my ancestor shrine saying I remember and honor you.

Leave a Reply

