Skip to content

did a little sewing…

October 21, 2012

While trying to pretend that I do not still have a headache, I pulled out my sewing machine and worked on the pile of clothes that needed repaired.  I figured since I had it out, I might as well finish off one of my craft projects.  I probably should have left well enough alone…it came out ok but all I can see is that the stitched piece didn’t end up perfectly square.  Guess I spent too much time trying to match the print of the frame and didn’t pay enough attention to that little detail.  Any way, one more stitched piece that can be displayed instead of stuffed into a drawer.

Hoppy Tea Party is my re-design. It is a mash-up of a couple freebies from Brooke’s Books.

I do like to stitch (when I can find the time and inclination) but I do so hate to sew them into finished pieces.  Yet framing is too expensive and I have not yet framed my own were the laced stitching perfectly fit the frame.  Woe is picky ol’ me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2012 12:37 PM

    It’s funny how we see our own flaws in our crafts(I find myself doing the same thing)…had you not mentioned it I would not have noticed it..the cross stitched piece is where my I went to right away….

    Like

  2. Dusty Spencer permalink
    October 21, 2012 6:56 PM

    Looks great and the design doesn’t look crooked.

    Like

  3. Joy permalink
    October 22, 2012 9:48 AM

    I’m totally with you on the expense of framing. I can stretch my own stuff but it’s not perfect. I’ve started getting frames at thrift stores and I have two pieces that are stretched and in frames but I have to finish the back. On one piece, I’m cheating and using sticky board so that it will fit better in the frame I have for it. The normal foam board it too thick sometimes.

    I do a lot of smalls for that very reason and I like perforated paper and plastic for their finishing ease.

    Like

    • October 22, 2012 10:12 AM

      Every time I’ve stretched my own, I’ve had to do interesting manipulations on the back to get it to fit. They just do not make the pre-made frames deep enough, typically. This is also why I tend to do smaller projects, or over one. I save the big ones for important things…like my son’s birth chart that I need to finish picking the colors out so that I can buy fabric and actually start stitching it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

