Skip to content

Smelly craft take 2 & 3

October 10, 2012

In case you missed it or have forgotten, take 1 can be found here.

The next time I did this, I did it on the gas grill with all the burners turned up.  If you do this, check them every minute or two.  One of the things to know about melting plastic beads is eventually bubbles will start to form, when that happens pull them out immediately if not a minute before otherwise the bubbles will just get bigger and make your efforts a bit unattractive.  I also learned something else from this experiment…

beads in muffin tin

The results of 2nd experimentation. 4-6 of these will be thrown away as unusable (read UGLY)

Use same size beads, beads that do not have an writing/drawing on them and no metallic beads.  Also glitter beads are really chancy to use.   Sometimes they come out great, other times not so much.

So on final attempt at doing this, I used metal cookie cutters with the same size beads.  The problem with doing this is that there isn’t always enough room for a bead where you need it.  So in some instances the plastic did not melt all the way to the edge of the form.  Over all I like the results.

made using same size beads and closely watched

I pulled them out just as bubbles were starting to form.  They did not blend together as well as I would have liked but any longer and the bubbles would have started to be a problem.  However they look nice enough that I think they will be cute gift toppers that can be hung either in a window or on a tree.

You know…Solstice crafts in October is just wrong…I need to find some fun Halloween crafts!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2012 5:57 PM

    Could I trade a wormwood fire-stick or apple mint tea as a trade for the circular ones?? Those are awesome!

    Like

    • October 10, 2012 7:05 PM

      I need to drill a hole in them so that they can be hung. You can have one or two of them! (But not all. 🙂 ) Let me know which ones and I’ll send them to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

