Skip to content

Shock and embarrassment

September 27, 2012

My child was sick with the stomach flu for two days.  By the doctor’s orders, he couldn’t go back to school until 24 hours AFTER his last fever.  He returned to school today (after some tense moments yesterday when he really wanted to be at school).  Today after school is a children’s book club that a group of mothers run.  I had texted the hostess for this week, explaining that I had accidentally deleted her invite.  I needed information.  She called me with the most surprising request:  “Don’t come“.  Her fear was that my child would make others sick.  Even after I explained that the doctor said it would be safe, she countered with saying that the flu is contagious for 2 weeks after the last symptom (not that she would expect anyone to keep their child out of school or away from things for that long).  I was so surprised that I couldn’t come up with an answer beyond “if that is what you want”.  She ended the conversation with “I don’t want to hurt your feelings but…”.

Part of my shock is that she is a pretty good friend.  She should know that I would not bring my child to such an event if I thought he was seriously contagious or could infect others easily.  I found it insulting that she felt the need to un-invite us.

Second of all, the stomach flu is NOT the same as the flu or influenza.  It is not transmitted the same way and flu shots cannot prevent it.  Stomach flu virus is transmitted by not washing one’s hands properly after using the restroom.  That is the ONLY way to transmit it.  So yes I need to ride my son about washing after voiding for the foreseeable future (depending on your source for 2 weeks to a month for the contagion to be gone…no one is quite sure of the time period).  I also realize how bad children can be about washing their hands.  Yet I KNOW there will be people there (not just children) that are still carriers of the virus as it has been making its way through our small town.  So I’m hurt, I’m insulted and trying very hard not to be angry.

Telling my son was hard as I knew he was looking forward to going.  He was rather upset.   I had to tell him that I didn’t understand it either but that some people are just unreasonable about that sort of thing…

Funny thing is…our sons sit together every lunch period…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2012 9:55 AM

    Hmm personally I would snuggle under a blanket with the young pagan and read a new book together and talk about it and then he can say to the others that he had a great book club night!

    Like

    • September 27, 2012 10:07 AM

      That was one of the options on the list I’m going to present him with… 🙂

      Like

  2. September 27, 2012 8:31 PM

    Personally I hate it when people say things like” I don’t want to hurt your feelings, but” or ” I don’t want to sound like a bitch, but” it just rubs me the wrong way.
    I hope you guys are able to do something fun anyway.

    Like

    • September 28, 2012 7:28 AM

      My theory is…if you are having to say that then obviously you are doing something wrong.

      We read Star Wars, happened to pick it up from the library book sale. It has no pictures which is different for him.

      Like

      • September 28, 2012 8:36 PM

        sounds like an excellent choice 🙂 How did he enjoy it?

        Like

        • September 28, 2012 9:33 PM

          He liked it…some of it was hard for him to follow…big words, some boring parts but he did pretty well with it.

          Like

  3. ladyimbrium permalink
    September 28, 2012 5:07 PM

    Yay Star Wars! Excellent choice for spending time away from obnoxious parents 😉 Since she obviously knows better than the doctor, after all… sheesh. People.

    Like

Leave a Reply

