Skip to content

Pondering ADF

September 10, 2012
tags:

The ADF has been popping up on my radar more and more lately.  I’m pondering joining them.  I think it may give me the structure that I need right now as I feel like I’m treading water…and it is getting tiring.  The biggest issue is that the majority of ADF is Celtic though I’m told there are also some Hellenic “kin” within its ranks.  My spiritual path is unfortunately solitary and while there is a grove a couple of hours away, they are Celtic based, so I’ll be remaining that way even if I do join.  I was in a coven briefly but our paths, both spiritual and physical, went in different directions.  I’ve pretty much dabbled in this and that since then.  I want to try something with more structure to it then my haphazard methodology.

So are any of you in the ADF?  Why or why not?  If yes, what do you like best, least?  Anything I should know about it?  Any advice or other thoughts?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. seanmcdh permalink
    September 10, 2012 2:00 PM

    I have been a member of ADF for many years, and I am also a member of the Hellenic Kin group =]

    Like

  2. September 10, 2012 5:05 PM

    I am a member of Hellenion and Hellenic_Recons. I really can’t get involved with so-called “universalist” types of organizations because I truly do believe that the dieties are separate (a hard-polytheistic view). Even though ADF has a lot to recommend it/them, there is still too much of a magical focus due to its founder for me. I do not ascribe to the wheel of the year. There are several gods’ festival cycles I follow as well as Hellenion’s monthly libation schedule.

    Like

    • September 10, 2012 6:28 PM

      my understanding of Hellenion is that there is a lot of in-fighting… Honestly, I had forgotten about Hellenion.

      Like

  3. September 11, 2012 3:41 PM

    I hadn’t heard about them, but they do look interesting. I can’t go to Harvest Home, but might be able to attend their Samhain ritual if you wan to go with me/us?

    Like

Leave a Reply

