Skip to content

Kitteh!

September 6, 2012
tags: ,

Ever since my beloved Sammy kitty died (untimely since he was poisoned) back in 2001, I’ve been on the look out for a black kitty.  Hubby insists on no more pound animals or animals where we are the secondary owner due to taking on animals in the past that have had some big issues to work through.  So shelter kitties are an automatic no (supposedly since that is were Jax kitty came from a couple of years ago but don’t remind Hubby, it makes him cranky).  One of his General Contractor’s wife took in a feral cat (well as much as one can with ferals).  She had kittens.  Hubby (who has been adamant about not having another cat) not only told me but told me there was a black male.  I told him I wanted it.  He told me that I’d have to pursue it, seeming to wash his hand of the whole deal.  I called on it yesterday, she said she’d call me back.  Guess what Hubby brought home with him?!

Meet Leo (formerly Jack Black) born about a week before my birthday.

Leo the off-black with black stripes kitteh

We renamed him since his name was too close to Jax, our other kitty.  It was between Leo and Mack.  My son picked Leo.

Son:  why a black cat?

Dad:  because your mom’s a witch and witches have black cats

Son:  ….

My son has told me previously that I can’t be a witch because I’m not on TV or don’t have green skin (which would be cool I think being that green is my favorite color).  Later when I try to convince him that I can’t go out in the rain because I’ll melt he tells me that witch is my OTHER form.  My human form can still go out into the rain.  So now I’m a shape shifter.  The things I learn from my son…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. tempewytch permalink
    September 6, 2012 9:31 AM

    The Kitty is cute, but I think your son is cuter!

    Like

  2. ladyimbrium permalink
    September 6, 2012 11:24 AM

    KITTY!!!!!

    Iz adorable! I’ve never had a cat. Grew up on a farm, but no cats. Snakes for rodent control, dogs for pets, no cats.

    Like

    • September 6, 2012 11:59 AM

      get thee a kitteh! Immediately if not sooner. No one should go through life without a kitty companion at least once.

      Like

  3. September 7, 2012 12:16 AM

    MacGyver, my orange baby, was named after the television show of the same name. Mac was pretty much neglected by his owners, who would go away for a week or more at a time and leave him to his own devices after locking him outside of the house. He became very resourceful and learned every home on the block that had a cat and how to get in each of these houses to get food and water. He was poofed by my supervisor where I worked at the time (she was a crazy cat lady herself who lived in that neighborhood) brought into my office and I was told to take him home. She told me his story and I renamed him MacGyver, after the very resourceful t.v. character. Ming was named Ming because he is Siamese and I had known a cat named Ming and thought it was a great name for a cat. I bought Ming from a pet store in my neighborhood (a nice place, their animals were all cared for very well)when I went in there looking for a scratching post. Left with a cat and no post! Kimba is pure white and I named him after one of my favorite cartoon characters of my childhood, Kimba the White Lion.

    Like

    • September 8, 2012 10:45 PM

      two cats are my limit. I’m still surprised that Hubby brought this one home to me…

      Like

  4. Medwolf permalink
    September 7, 2012 6:01 PM

    Spawn of Basement Cat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

