Skip to content

The Storm Lord’s Ride

August 6, 2012

The conception for this tale occurred to me on a cycle ride yesterday.  It would pop into my head periodically through the day and then tormented me all the way home.  I finally wrote it down last night before bed.  Dedicated to “Medwuf”, with whom I love to ride.

 

The Storm Lord’s Ride

“Hermes, do you know what Hera is up to?  I ran into her in the Great Hall and she had the most self-satisfied smirk on her face.  When I asked her what is up, she patted me on the cheek and said you wanted me out in the courtyard.”

“Father, I…”  Behind Hermes something gleamed under the fading light of Helios.

“Son…what is this?  A chariot of some sort?”  Zeus walked around the large metal object with storm clouds and a screaming golden eagle upon it, Hera momentarily forgotten.

“A gift.  From all of us.  A Harley Davidson V-Rod 10th Anniversary Edition that Iris painted and Hephaistos modified.  Instead of gas it uses…”

“A hardly what?”

Hermes stared at his father with an incredulous expression.  “Out of curiosity who is Bar Refaeli?“

“Oh she is this gorgeous blond…why?!”

“Uh huh…priorities, priorities, priorities.  How can you NOT know what a Harley Davidson is?!”

“I leave the gadgets to you young ones.  People though, people interest me. Besides you are the one that left that Maxim magazine on my desk.”

“Never mind, Dad, I’m sorry I brought it up.  Sir King, I present you with your first MOTORCYCLE.”

“My first…OH!”

“Before you take it for a spin, you must dress “appropriately”.  May I?”

“Hmmmm?  Oh yes, of course.”

With a touch of Hermes’ hand the clothes of Zeus morph into something else. Zeus is now covered in faded snug fitting jeans, a shirt with torn sleeves the color of his eyes, mirrored sunglasses and a black boots.  Hermes then hands him a leather vest.

“Read the back.”

Embroidered on the back is a pan-Hellenic sun, in gold, with the title “Storm Lord” written across it in royal blue.  On the front it says, “Mount Olympus Motorcycle Club?”  Zeus laughs.  “I recognize Athene’s work. Nicely done as usual.  I see you are wearing a vest also.  Turn around…Quicksilver.  Of course.”

“Yes Athene did the embroidery while Aphrodite had a hand with your clothes.  Ares suggested the boots and shades.”

“Well let’s take this ol’ bird for a spin.”

After a few minutes of instructions, Zeus roars off into the night screaming “YEEEEEE HAW!”

Hermes follows quietly behind on his Ducati Diavel Chrome, grinning.  “Wait until dear ol’ Dad sees Hera, I mean , “Black Widow” on her Valkyrie Rune.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ladyimbrium permalink
    August 6, 2012 12:02 PM

    This made me laugh SO HARD!!!!!

    Like

  2. Medwolf permalink
    August 6, 2012 4:18 PM

    Cute… but Hermes on a Duc? I can see him on a Buell… Kisses

    Like

  3. August 6, 2012 10:04 PM

    You have received the Inspiring Blog Award 🙂
    http://lykeiaofapollon.wordpress.com/2012/08/07/inspiring-blog-award/
    Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

