Skip to content

Late PBP: Omnipresence of the Gods

August 3, 2012

As the sun goes down my thoughts turn to Hekate…this being my favorite time of day, especially in the summer.  As the stars come out, I think of Nyx draping the sky.  When the moon rises, I blow a kiss to Selene.  This for me is the joy of Paganism, the joy of my path.

I listen to the crickets and my thoughts turn to the Muses and their musical chatter.  As I drive down the road I thank Hephaistos for the combustion engine that allows me to get to my destination at a pace quicker than a horse.  As rain pours down, I call out to Zeus.  I nod to Iris as she strides her rainbow.  I thank Hermes for getting me to my destination safely.  This is the way my thoughts bend, this is how I see my world.

As I tuck my child into bed, I thank Apollo and Artemis for their care of him.  I hail Gaia for providing a world that he finds so fascinating.  As I smell the brownies that my mother-in-law bakes for the charity sale that her step-granddaughters are giving, I think of Hestia.  As I read my email, my thoughts turn to Hermes. As I search for information,  my thoughts turn to Athene.  The Gods are a real part of my life.

In the summer, I look to the breezes whether caused by sylphs or the Four Winds.  In the winter I focus upon Helios.  In the spring and fall my thoughts are with Demeter, Persephone and Hades.  While my days are spent on the cares of the mortal world, my nights are often focused on the divine.  At mealtimes, we call on the gods of harvest and beast.  At bedtime, I call upon Zeus and his lady,upon my guides and ancestors.

There are those that only see the divine as they enter a church or open their holy book.  I have no holy book, no specific place of worship.  My spiritual community is typically only accessed through the world wide web. Sometimes I find that limiting.  But in reality, it is only my lack of awareness that is limiting.  The gods are everywhere, if one only knows how to look.

“a year of exploring the Pagan world through blogging”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. tempewytch permalink
    August 4, 2012 6:18 AM

    this is a very nice and thought provoking post, I never thought of it before but I do the same sort of thing myself (but with the Celtic Pantheon not the Helllenic)

    Like

  2. August 4, 2012 8:13 AM

    yeah for thought provoking!

    Thanks!

    Like

  3. heraqles permalink
    August 12, 2012 9:24 PM

    This is so profound. I am moved by your words and when I read them feel all the closer to the Gods. I am kind of sorry for those who only have one God, they are missing out on the sense of unity I feel.

    Like

    • August 13, 2012 6:33 PM

      I’m glad that it moved you. Yet those that worship only one God may still experience this only in a slightly different manner. While I may not agree with their choice, I still hope that they find the divine all around them.

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. PBP: Yearbook « 4 of Wands

Leave a Reply

