Skip to content

Smelly craft

August 1, 2012

and I don’t mean one involving candles, incense or perfume!

Bought some cheap plastic beads over the weekend to make suncathers.  My son and I melted them in small metal forms (aka cookie cutters).  This is a craft that needs to be done in a well ventilated area.  Peeeeeuuuuuuuu!

However the result is pretty nifty.

because all elephants should be pink with white polka dots (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!)

The suncatcher my son made me.

Just need Hubby to drill a hole in the top of each one of these so that I can put them in the window!

If you do this craft, use the darker, translucent beads as the light colors wash out when the sun shines through.  I think these would be great ornaments for Christmas…but you better make them now when you can open the windows.  (Or better yet…maybe use a grill?)

 

Additional Note (9/13/12):  beads melt very quickly on a hot grill.  5 minutes is too long type of quick.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2012 2:28 PM

    Your suncatcher is beautiful…I remember making something like that when I was a kid. Thanks for sharing!

    –shaunterria
    ca11i0pe.blogspot.com

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Smelly craft take 2 & 3 « 4 of Wands

Leave a Reply

