Skip to content

How I spent my Summer Solstice

June 20, 2012

I do not have any religious community where I live.  Not a single Hellenic or even  Pagan.  So today I hosted a “book club” for the local mothers and children around my son’s age. I told one friend who is aware of my beliefs that I don’t have a religious community so I’m sharing the day and bounty with my local community instead. It was past time that I held book club (as we’ve been attending these for over a year I think)  but I purposely held it today so that I’d have people, a community of sorts, in my house for Solstice.  The book I read was about the solstice and the various ancient traditions surrounding this day oriented towards children.  Then we did hand print suns.  Not a bad way to spend the day.

I served smoked salmon, cheeses, sandwich meats, bread, crackers, strawberries, watermelon, a tray of sun colored veggies, salsa, French onion dip, chocolate chip oatmeal cookies and kahlua cake.  For drinks there was a shiraz, a cherry wine, pink lemon-aid and juice.  I spend the last two days cleaning my house from top to bottom and hassling my husband to clean the workshop, back “yard” and  mow the lawn (which he didn’t get done…ah well, he’s been a good sport about everything else) when all he wanted to do was finish working on the camper.  The leftover food will go with us on the camping trip that I’m being forced to go on… (normally I don’t mind going especially with a large group…but I think I’m going to be the only female and not looking forward to that.)

Since I neglected to take any pictures all I have left is this…my table decoration

Not a fan of daisies…but I may make an exception for this type, gerber daisies. I though these were perfect for summer solstice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tempewytch permalink
    June 21, 2012 1:39 AM

    That does seem a good day, I hoped to meet a Pagan friend for lunch, but she was running late getting ready for a yarn show and had to drop out 😦

    Like

    • June 21, 2012 10:16 AM

      Bummer…hate it when that happens!

      Like

      • tempewytch permalink
        June 21, 2012 10:30 AM

        she was very apologetic, but stuff just ran later than she hoped. Ah well, I have lit some nice scented candles and I will chill as much as I can.

        Like

Leave a Reply

