Skip to content

Prayer for Hekate

May 15, 2012

I took The Rite of Her Sacred Fires and decided to edited it for my own sensibilities.  I have a very particular view of Hekate and do not like the seemingly constant emphasis on her shadow traits when I see her as so much more.  I think this will be useful for any time I want to reach out to my Lady.

With left palm facing up at waist level, elbow bent 90 degrees at side and right palm facing outward with palm near shoulder

I invoke thee, Great Mistress of the Heaven, Earth and Sea.
By thy mysteries of Night and day,
by the torches of Moon and Sun,
I invoke thee, Mistress of life, death and rebirth.
Emerge now from thy abode to feed my soul and enlighten my mind.
Whisper to me thy wisdom!
Triple-formed Mistress of the crossroads I entreat thee
to bring forth thy knowledge from amongst the stars;
to bring forth thy light from the darkness of between.
Hail Creatrix of Light! Key-bearing Mistress! Light-bearing Goddess!

Raise both hands to heave for three breaths and then touch the ground for three breaths.  In front of a candle or incense, root yourself for three breaths and say:

Hekate, guardian and guide,
I light this candle/incense in your honor
may its light/scent be a bridge between the heavens and the earth.
With this offering I express my desire <to honor, for understanding, etc.>
<sing> Earth Mother! Sea Mother! Sky Mother!
Earth Mother! Sea Mother! Sky Mother!
Earth Mother! Sea Mother! Sky Mother! </sing>
Great Hekate, Spinner of the Web, Governor of the Spiral of Life
guide me towards the pathways of understanding,
through crossroads and confusion,
banishing doubt and fear.

Spend this time talking to the Lady, contemplating, meditating or doing any ritual.  When the time is right, end this rite by reciting the following:

I am infused by the warmth of our union
and am reminded that I am your beloved child.
May this energy lighten my heart
and smooth my way.

Place your hands over your heart for three breaths gathering love, fingertips over your mouth for three breaths gathering honor, back of your fingertips over your brow for three breaths gathering awe and push this energy to Hekate by flinging your arms up palms out for three breaths.  Reach down and touch the earth to center and ground.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:25 PM

    Well said: “seemingly constant emphasis on her shadow traits”. I felt I had to bail out of the RHSF page on Facebook because of that. That just didn’t click for me.

    Nice adaptation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

