Skip to content

Recipe: Sun-dried tomato chimichurri

May 9, 2012
tags:

What you may not know is that Hubby and I enjoy to cook.  Heck it is one of the few things that both of us likes that we can do together.  Unlike either of our fathers, Hubby likes to try new recipes so we usually try at least a couple a week.  If we like a recipe but think it can be better, we make notes and then stick it in the “trial” box.  Once the recipe is “finalized”, it goes into a 3 inch binder with the rest of our finalized recipes.  (My sister said that when we die, the only thing she really wants is our cookbook.  I told her she’d probably have to argue with my son over that one.  She whined “well at least a copy of it!”  [grin]  I have helped her start her own cookbook which I add to when she reminds me.)  I used to be the main cook, until I got pregnant.  Then the smell of cooking meat for the first trimester made me turn green, so Hubby took over the cooking.  Then came all the breastfeeding and such.  So by the time I was able to take over the cooking again, he was firmly entrenched.  Even on the recipes that I am usually the main cook upon, he gently bumps me out of the way to take over.  Doesn’t even realize he’s doing it.  It is quite funny.  So I’m the sous chef.  However it is still my job to find the recipes that I think we’ll all like.  Hubby keeps me supplied in at least 3 cooking magazines to help out with that.

Last night’s recipe was divine!  This sauce will taste good on any meat, pasta, rice or bread you can imagine I think.  We had it on deer last night.

Sun-Dried Tomato Chimichurri

5 oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
2 tablespoons chopped onion
2 garlic cloves
1 tablespoon oil from sun-dried tomatoes jar
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
salt and pepper — to taste
1 or 2 Greek olives — optional

Place ingredients in a food processor. Blend until smooth.  Makes enough for about 4 servings.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

