Skip to content

PBP: Prayer to Hestia

April 13, 2012

Lady Hestia, Goddess of the Hearth,
wrapped in a himation of fire
I honor thee and seek thy blessings
for my home, family, and community.
You are the first born of Rhea
and the last disgorged by Kronos.
Virgin eternal having denied all suitors,
even the lords Apollo and Poseidon.
By belonging to none, you belong to all.
Builder of dwellings, paired with Hermes,
I ask that you protect my home.
As the center of domestic life and
the giver of domestic blessings,
you are the heart of every home.
Be welcome in my home always.
At your altar, all offerings are laid.
There all the divine ones gather,
giving you the first portion.
Doubly welcome, are you,
for the company that you keep.
May your harmonious ways
influence my family, near and far.
As your fire is the center of the home,
so is your altar the center of community.
It is a place for coming together
where differences do not matter
where asylum can be found.
May you bless my community
with peace and unity.
As Gaia contains a molten core,
so all of humanity rings your flame.
May you turn all of humanity
into one large community
through tolerance and compromise
minimizing or reversing damage
to Gaia and to her children.
I honor thee lovely lady of light and warmth.
I pray that your blessings ignite
within one and all, now and forever.
Make it so through truth and love.
Hail Lady Hestia!

"a year of exploring the Pagan world through blogging"

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 10:12 AM

    Awesome! Thankyou! My Letter H blog post this week is also about Hestia. I love your prayer to Hestia, thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

    • April 13, 2012 2:05 PM

      I try not to do my project posts on popular topics so that they do not get lost among the others. The word that caught my eye for this post was himation…which is the long fabric that Hestia pulls up to cover her head. Yet I couldn’t think of what to write about it so I did the prayer to Hestia instead. So I find especially interesting that your blog talks about head-covering… I tried to leave a comment on your blog but it wouldn’t go through for some reason.

      Thanks!

      Like

  2. April 13, 2012 6:21 PM

    I would love to introduce Hestia into my daily worship (there’s something about her that has always seemed especially unique and to-Herself), but I am such a terrible housekeeper, that I would feel like I’m perpetrating the most dreadful LIE everytime I made offering 😦

    “Himation” gave me flashbacks to both theatre _and_ fashion school!

    Like

    • April 13, 2012 8:35 PM

      I’m not the greatest house keeper either…introduce her and see what happens. 🙂

      Like

  3. Sparrow permalink
    April 14, 2012 6:32 PM

    What a beautiful poem! I have loved Hestia since I was a child. You have captured Her personality very well. I especially liked the line “By belonging to none, you belong to all”. I also liked that you wrote She is important for bringing communities together. Well done! 🙂

    Like

    • April 14, 2012 7:13 PM

      Thanks. I do not “work” with her per se, but I do have a special place in my heart for her. I honor her before I light anything in the house.

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. PBP: Yearbook « 4 of Wands

Leave a Reply

