Skip to content

Bad Mommy

March 23, 2012
tags:

I accidentally cause my boy-child to hit his head on concrete during a bout of rough housing.  I apologized repeatedly as I settled him down and wiped his eyes.  A hit on the head is not unusual as he is an active child but 20  minutes or so later he started complaining that his eyes were blurry and wanted me close.  Then he didn’t want to eat dinner which made me nervous so I didn’t want to eat mine.    He kept saying over and over that this has never happened before and that he didn’t like it.  Oh and I love you.  My little boy, told me over and over that he loved me.  This was followed by him repeatedly telling me that he didn’t feel good, wanting to cuddle me or his dad instead of his grandparents and wanting to sleep.

Panic.

So we run him over to the emergency room.  On the way there he tells me that he needs to puke.  We find him something to puke into just in time.  Get him into the ER, get checked in and then he looks at me and says “Mom my eyes are not blurry any more.” and he starts looking, acting and sounding better.  They check him over and give him something to settle his tummy.  By now he’s looking like he’s back to normal.  A little later gave him a popscicle which he not only ate but finished it.  I can’t decide if he was really hungry or what.  (He doesn’t like popscicles because he says they are too cold.  He’s had them on rare occasions but never  finished them.)  They cut us loose saying that he probably only has a very mild concussion.  To keep him a bit quieter/calmer than usual and to stay away from “exciting” games.  (Easy for them to say.)  Also to take him to his primary doctor for a check up next week.

As I was helping him into his pajamas, I apologized again for hurting him.  He looked at me and smiled.  “It’s ok mom.  It happens sometimes.  I love you.”

So needless to say, while I have my Pagan Blog Project blog planned out, I haven’t been able to write it yet.  I’m too tired and frazzled to do it now.  I may get to it tomorrow night.  If not, it will not be until Monday as I’m out of town.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2012 3:59 PM

    Big scares do happen, and when they do it feels like your whole life freezes in on that moment. I am glad to hear that he is doing ok.

    Like

  2. Jennie Knight permalink
    March 24, 2012 4:59 PM

    I know all about these scary moments with children. I am glad it turned out all right. Yes children are resillient. To this day I remember each and every detail when my 15 month DD oulled a cup of hot coffee over onto herface and shoulders. I had paced it on top of a roll top desk. she pulled on the scarf it sat on. We rushed ti ER who eushed ut RI Hosp. All though her skin lifted off, there were no lasting scars. I will offer the same words of wisdom the rns gave me. It was an accident, don’t beat yourself up but learn from it.

    Like

  3. March 25, 2012 3:34 AM

    Agreed! Totally scary for you, but shit happens sometimes, and he’s going to be fine. I managed to dislocate my two yr old daughters shoulder lifting her up off the floor by her arm – not yanking her though – and yeah, I felt like a jerk for years. She can’t even remember it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

