Skip to content

Couple of Book Reviews

March 1, 2012
tags: ,

I’ve read four books this week.  I haven’t done something like this since before my son was born.  I needed the down time and let everything slide.

The first book was the second book in the Barque Cat series, Catacombs, by Anne McCaffery (you will be missed!) and Elizabeth Anne Scarborough.  It was a big disappointment.  It lacked the richness and depth that I expect of McCaffery’s books.  It was dull and easy to put down.  The story line did not stay with me and generally it was a waste of time.

The remaining three books more than made up for this lack.  A 3-in-1 anthology by Gail Carriger.  Delightfully addicting which is why I read so much this week.  Oh yeah…the book is The Parasol Protectorate (contains Souless, Changeless and Blameless).  It combines some of my favorite genres all into one book:  supernatural, gadgets (ala steampunk), humor, romance, fashion and the Victorian era.  The main character reminds me somewhat of myself…curious, hung up on her “lack” of good looks, intelligent, outspoken, etc. The way her husband deals with her is very reminiscent of my own hubby.  The characters are engaging and the humor often left me laughing out loud much to my son’s bewilderment.  (What’s so funny mom?!)  I can’t wait to read the final two books and yet am very sorry to find out there is only two more for the series.  I hope her other series are equally as entertaining!

Favorite line:  “What was the maximum possible expansion ratio?” (you have to read it to find out why it was so funny…remembering Victorian morals)

I look forward to rereading them so I can pick out other wonderful lines (that do not seem so funny out of context) such as “once the egg was broken, might as well make an omelet with it.” (Again involves Victorian scruples.)  I’ll be truthful, the third book was not as good as I would have expected given the first two but was still very entertaining and engaging.  It was very quick paced to the point of feeling rushed and consequently the humor wasn’t there as in the other two.  (Not to mention Alexia forgave to easily I think.) Yet it still kept me up late as I wanted to finish it before going to bed.

I’m trying to think of a good synopsis without giving too much away:  Alexis is a soulless spinster in Victorian steampowered London who can negate the powers of both the vampires and werewolves who are incorporated into public life.  This makes her feared by the supernatural set, a curiosity to the scientific set and a bundle of trouble for the head of BUR (Bureau of Unnatural Registry), a loud Scottish Alpha werewolf and his competent Beta.  Other items of note mixed into Victorian society:  a flamboyant rove vampire with a swarm of drone dandies, terrible taste in hats, a woman wearing man’s clothing, steampunk-type gadgets galore and oh so much more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 6:24 AM

    I guess I know what fiction I will be looking to download onto my e-reader next 😀 It sounds great!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Review: Parasol Protectorate, vol 2 « 4 of Wands

Leave a Reply

