Skip to content

Versatile Blogger

February 6, 2012

I’d like to thank Seillean for nominating me for the Versatile Bloggers award! Sorry it has taken me so long to follow through!  I appreciate it!

So it looks like I’m supposed to list 7 things about me you didn’t know, and then nominate 15 other bloggers. Most of the blogs that I follow are so specialized (crafts, spiritual and tarot) that  I’m not sure I know of any that can be considered versatile.  Oh, wait!  I thought of one!  My Repurposed Life is a blog about repurposing furniture finds into many other uses.  My favorite has got to be the bed frame into a bench.  One of the projects Hubby and I are working on now (you’ll have to wait and see!) was inspired by this blog.  If I think of any others, I’ll let you know!  Or feel free to make suggestions!

So here are the 7 things about me you may not have known, written randomly as the occurred to me:

  1. I live in a shotgun style Victorian house.   The original part of the house was built between 1880-1884.  It has had 5 additions added onto it since then.
  2. I swam competitively during the summer in junior high, for my high school and for my college until I tore my right rotatory cuff.  I then over compensated and tore my left.  Both injuries were aggravated in a car accident in 2000.  This means I have to have simple hair styles, can’t work over my head for very long, can’t do repetitive movements (like painting), have to be careful with exercise routines (no push-ups!) and have to have my arms supported when I stitch.  My neck and upper back muscles are constantly in an uproar over doing the work that those torn muscles should be doing.  The majority of my headaches are caused by these cranky muscles.
  3. I used to love to roller skate.  As a true child of the 80s, I spent a lot of time at roller rinks.
  4. I got interested in tarot in college.  Bought the first deck I saw (Voodoo tarot) and gave such a disastrous reading to a fellow student that it was many years later before I got the nerve to try it again.  I wish I still had that deck as I remember being so fascinated by the images.
  5. My mom used to tell people that I was so smart that I was going to find a cure for cancer.  As a housewife and stay-at-home-mom with a degree that I’ve never used, I sometimes feel like I failed by not making it in my degreed field (Chemical Engineering) and doing something that helps the human race.  Those dreams were not my own but I had no idea what else to do and was too weak to find out.  I hated engineering school but after the expense and with still no idea what else to do I stuck it out.  (however I did meet my wonderful Hubby in college so I did get something good out of the education.)
  6. I think I’ve forgotten how to play.  My son often asks me to play with him and I just look at him blankly…it doesn’t help that he is all about cars and such…
  7. I don’t make friends well.  Making friends is a learned trait that my parents are still trying to figure out how to do.  Since I didn’t learn it from them, I’m often muddling through and failing I think. So I don’t have many that I consider friends, mostly just a bunch of acquaintances that would not notice if I disappeared.

Well that list ended up being a bit morbid…I’m resisting the temptation to change it though…this is who I am.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

