Skip to content

Day Four of Heliogenna

December 21, 2011

My Solstice Plea to Demeter, I originally wrote to be said all together but I think it makes more sense to break it up.  I do not remember where I got the idea for this prayer, yet it is one of my favorites.   I can so vividly see in my mind’s eye Demeter at some point making the trip to the Underworld, to view with her own eyes what is between her daughter and her daughter’s spouse.  Is she happy?  Is she well treated? Can she be broke out of here and kept from returning?  What does she see in him?

The winter holidays are often when feuding members of families are brought together.  So I can see Demeter, reconciling somewhat with her brother over the fate of her only daughter.  I can see Helios taking advantage of her anger to linger under the earth, to be lazy and let his duties slide.  In her heart of hearts, I’m guessing that Demeter is still hurt and angry about the whole experience which is why we still experience the cold and the snow every year.  It may not agree with science but poetically it appeals to the heart of me.  That I’m experiencing a mother god’s distress is somehow easier to cope with mentally than the tilt and wiggle of the earth in its course around the sun.  It leaves me some hope that Demeter’s distress can be soothed or lessened.  Science does not allow for that at all.  (Yeah let me fool myself…anything to make it through these colder months.)  Every year she makes this trip in hopes of finding a way to wrest her Kore away from the underworld.  And every year Demeter drags, scolds, coddles, demands, etc.  Helios return with her so that they can start preparing the land for her daughter’s return as the stubborn girl will not leave before it is time.

So any way, I’ve broke up this prayer adding a new segment to it.  It is to be said at sunset.  The second part, to be posted later, is to be said at sunrise (or if you are like me…lazy or an insomniac or both, whenever you get up).

Solstice Plea to Demeter, Part 1 

By the command of Zeus,
we live within the pattern of creation.
By the command of Zeus,
we are given blessings and trials
By the command of Zeus,
a drama, a change.
All that happens, happens
because Zeus wills it to be so.
I bow to you, Father Zeus,
And praise your works.

Hestia, Lady of the Hearth, Keeper of the Flame
Where ever you are the Gods have a home
For you are the center of all
Giving warmth and comfort,
Uniting those that are estranged,
Bring peace to troubled hearts.

Mama Demeter, tonight is the longest night of the year
A time when spring seems so very far away.
Helios has been taking his cue from you.
He has been tarrying longer and longer
In his visits with Persephone and Hades.
Tonight we ask you to bring him back to us.
Reconcile with your daughter.
Make your peace with her husband.
Remember the pomegranate,
While it is a the cause of her departure,
It also symbolizes her return.
Sooth your troubled heart.
See for yourself how she fares.
While there, send back Helios.
Send back the light so that warmth can follow.
Give us a beacon of hope
as we await Kore’s return.

Gracious Lady and Shining Lord,
we mortals await your return
shivering in the cold and dark
keeping solemn company
with this small light
to guide your return.
We pray for the return of light.
We pray for the return of warmth.
We pray for a new beginning.
Hear our pleas for your return!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2011 5:25 PM

    I may not comment frequently, but I do enjoy reading evocations of the divinities. It’s not something I do, by the way, but I greatly enjoy the artistry of others.

    A wonderful solstice!

    Bill

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Day Five of Heliogenna « 4 of Wands
  2. Heliogenna 2012 « 4 of Wands
  3. Solstice Eve Ritual « Oaken Scrolls
  4. Solstice Eve Ritual | 4 of Wands

Leave a Reply

