Skip to content

My Perfect Image of Zeus

December 6, 2011

I have this mental image of Zeus that I would like to find, as I was telling a friend on Facebook.  One that I will never find because it is nothing like the commercial version that is seen in the few places that bother to carry Greek pantheon statuary.  Everyone is so stuck on him being a sky god or ruler (or worse a womanizer) that everything else about him is overshadowed.  Typically he is portrayed:  in the clouds or on a throne, with a lightning bolt and an eagle or Nike nearby.   Phooey.  Doesn’t do him nearly enough justice.  I told her that:

 “My perfect image of Zeus would be one with oak leaves in his hair, closely trimmed beard, maybe in a less formal clothing, closer to a hunting “costume”. Face not smiling but not serious either…like that moment just before or just after a smile. Well muscled but not bulging either. A snake around his bicep, golden eagle on his arm/shoulder, bees and lilies on his tunic edging, a cornucopia at his side/feet and a stylized lightning bolt (like what you see in vase paintings) in his hand. If it was in color, black with blue highlights hair, twinkling blue eyes, dark blue, black or brown tunic. Skin a golden brown in color. He’d be in motion, like he was walking…I keep seeing an animal at his side…a wolf maybe?”

As the conversation went on bulls were mentioned, ram horns or a ram skin were added to the visual symbols.

Well when I went on this mini ranting wishlist, I forgot that the person to whom I was writing is an artist.  She said that the image I described was so vivid that she pulled out her sketchbook and put it down on paper.  At some point she is going to paint it!  I think I squee-ed when I read that.  I’m just so thrilled that I had to share.  Can’t wait to see it.  While her image will probably not exactly match mine, I’m sure it will be close enough to leave me completely awed/delighted/transfixed.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 8:58 PM

    Ha ha! I was going to send you over to “Beloved in Light”, but you made it there already 🙂

    Like

  2. tempewytch permalink
    December 7, 2011 4:49 AM

    Oooh that sounds wonderful!

    Like

    • December 7, 2011 8:56 AM

      doesn’t it though! Someone also volunteered to design and make a pendant that is Zeus themed too! I’m just thrilled!

      Like

      • tempewytch permalink
        December 7, 2011 9:01 AM

        hmm wonder if someone would do a Morrigan and Cernunnos mix for me?

        Like

        • December 7, 2011 4:52 PM

          I’ll let you know how this goes. I received a primliminary sketch. I made some suggestions for changes. I’m delighted so far.

          If it works out well, I’ll give you his name.

          Like

        • tempewytch permalink
          December 8, 2011 8:06 AM

          that would be wonderful – thank you!

          Like

  3. December 7, 2011 6:06 AM

    LOL ranters beware 😉

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Miscellanea « The House of Vines

Leave a Reply

