Skip to content

feeling linky

December 1, 2011

Christ is NOT the reason for the Season” is a well written and succinct article that I only wish I had written.

“So to the Christians, who do claim that Christ is the reason for the season, would you please consider the history and context before you get upset next time when someone doesn’t wish you a Merry Christmas. If you Christians want to wish Merry Christmas, that’s fine, but don’t be surprised when I wish you a Joyful Yule back, or someone else wishes you a Merry Solstice, Happy Chanukah, the politically correct Season’s Greetings or Happy Holidays. But to expect by default you will always be greeted at retail with a Merry Christmas is hubris, and there are many verses in the Bible that speak about the fallacies of pride. “When pride comes, then comes disgrace . . .” (Pr. 11:2). It is also arrogant to fight so that your local city hall has a nativity display, but then fight against other religious displays because they are “inappropriate” to your worldview. We are just as entitled to fair and equal treatment as you are, whether you believe in the validity of our religious worldview or not.”

Waterless snowglobes is an adorable craft that I want to try as soon as I lay my hands on a mini streetlamp.

Advent calendar craft is a clever idea for those with children who like to craft.  We will be doing the rice tree tomorrow.  I’ve even already dyed some rice green.

I’ve never knowingly read any Oscar Wilde until I read this page.  Then I realized that I’d read some of them as story books to my son.  Currently working my way through the list.  Found the page courtesy of Stumble Upon.

Trying to find time and brain space to make my way through this, The Syrian Goddess, by Lucian, tr. by Herbert A. Strong and John Garstang, [1913].  It caught my eye and it is bugging the crap out of me that I haven’t been able to satisfy my curiosity.

I bought a woven star like this out of wood for a friend last year, so was delighted to find the directions so that I make one for me and her and her and…

Finally another geeky read that I haven’t had time or brain space for but I hope to find it before Solstice gets here!  Poseidon’s Festival at the Winter Solstice by Noel Robertson

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tempewytch permalink
    December 2, 2011 6:19 AM

    Hmm my SIL bought me a cross for last Christmas, OH explained to her that as a Pagan I found it quite off-putting and she couldn’t understand this. She kept saying that as SHE liked it she bought it for me, OH countered with “would you like it if you were given a pentacle” and she got all huffy and upset but still couldn’t see that she had done anything wrong (but if I gave here something Pagan that would be awful and wrong and icky)

    Like

    • December 2, 2011 1:28 PM

      I would have handed back to her with either “I’m sorry, I’m not Christian and this is a Christian symbol.” or a snarky “I don’t care to hang torture devices on my neck/walls/whatever.”

      I’ve been lucky in that while I can’t say my family exactly agrees with my choice but they have never hassled me about it and have always tried to be accommodating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

