Skip to content

Thankful Day 22

November 22, 2011
tags: ,

Today I am thankful for Anne McCaffery who went *between* today.  Many dragons and dragon lovers keened their lament at the news of her passing.

Ms. McCaffery was a fixture of my childhood.  I read everything of hers I could lay my hands upon.  The Pern series.  The Rowan series.  Acorna Series. PTB series.  Restoree. The Crystal Singer series.  As an adult, I own most of her books, even her collaborations.  I would escape into her books regularly thanks to teenage angst.

I will miss her stories but am glad that I had the opportunity to live in her worlds, even for a short time.  (Yes I know her son is writing the Pern series now but the few I read left me cold and disappointed.)  Thank you ma’am.

Here is to Anne McCaffery.  <raises a cup of klah>

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2011 1:40 AM

    Oh, I didn’t know she died … Her Pern serie was a big part of my teen years. My mom gave me the one she bought when they were first translated in french to make me do something.

    I am most thankful for her and all her creations. She was an amazing creator of worlds.

    Like

  2. tempewytch permalink
    November 23, 2011 12:33 PM

    Benden white would be better (or red actually come to think of it!)

    Like

    • November 23, 2011 10:05 PM

      I’ve never had either one of those…but I have had klah. Yummmm. (But you probably have a very valid point.)

      Like

      • tempewytch permalink
        November 24, 2011 9:28 AM

        In true Parallel Earth Resources Negligible style I plan to celebrate the life of Anne McCaffrey by re-reading all her books with some good wine (but not the sharp Tillek white!)

        Like

        • November 24, 2011 10:21 AM

          alas, I’m not at home but it is on my want to do list!

          Like

  3. November 24, 2011 11:24 AM

    Haven’t read the series in years, but I may start re-reading them again now. I knew it was going to happen eventually but… :/ I still had hope she may have written another book on her own, without Todd’s influence. :/ Alas.

    It’s amazing how many terms are coming back to me now that I recognize, lol. DRoP was my life in my early to late teenage years.

    A thousand of every good thing, Dragonlady.

    Like

    • November 24, 2011 6:03 PM

      agreed. His writing is just lacking a certain something…

      Like

      • tempewytch permalink
        November 24, 2011 6:23 PM

        well he seems to have latched on to the sex sells market .. um sorry Todd I liked your Mom’s idea of sex as a widely accepted irrelevance, regardless of the genders involved.

        Like

        • November 24, 2011 6:57 PM

          I think I only read one of his and that was enough for me.

          Like

  4. November 27, 2011 7:50 PM

    Honor those the dragons heed In thought and favor, word and deed Worlds are lost or worlds are saved From those dangers dragon-braved. She gave a new voice to dragons, and they became protectors, guardians, and companions. No longer something to be feared, but something to be loved. She gave us a way to get through the worst that the world could throw at us when growing up, and even still today as an adult, her writings get us through. The dragons bugle from the heights, and the harpers’ words are slow and sad, but our hearts will remember the flight of the master harper of pern, and all she gave us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

