Skip to content

Thankful Day 8

November 8, 2011

Feeling better today…got a bunch of little things that have been piling up done.  Ordered some books with my gift cards…a tarot book, a spirit guide book (one that I had gotten from the library but liked the meditation exercises in it so much, I ordered it), the 4th book of the Eragon series and a spirit board.  I know.  Weird.  Silly.  I needed to spend a bit more to get free shipping and the board was on sale and well…it is the second time that one has practically jumped out at me in the last couple of days.  I even drew a couple tarot cards to see if my guides really wanted me to (for the curious:  Star and 2 of Cups, which seemed like a resounding yes!)  I’ve never owned one before and I think I’ve used one once.  Also, I took my son to the library today…you seeing the theme now?  BOOKS! (bet you thought I was on some random tangent)

I am thankful for books.  New, used, craft, spiritual, history, science, classics, music, science fiction, fantasy, romance, cooking, children’s, adults, etc.  I like them all.  Digital, soft-bound, hardback, paperpack, etc.  I’ve been an avid reader all my life.  Mom started me off young.  She’d prop me up in a rocking chair with the big Wards, Sears or JCPenny catalog on my lap.  We went to the library often and during the summers did their reading programs.  In junior high, I worked in the library and found books to be a great escape from the pressures of being a teenager.  Whenever someone broke my heart, I’d find solace in a book.  I even worked in a library in college until I tore my rotatory cuffs and couldn’t lift the heavy books up to the upper shelves.  After graduating, I even applied to work at a library and was shocked over the amount of schooling they required for librarians.  In a perfect world, I’d go back to school to get my Masters in Library Sciences…but I haven’t even paid off my student loan from getting my BS.

I’m also thankful for libraries where I can get books for my son and movies for us to watch together.  Where hopefully InterLibrary Loan will get me the book I want to read but can’t afford.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 10:15 PM

    I will join you in being thankful for books, today and every day that follows! Books are magical portals, tools, weapons, lovers, friends… I love books and they are a steadfast source of sensory delight. And I am thankful to you for reminding me 🙂

    Like

  2. November 9, 2011 6:09 AM

    Books were my companion in my teen years. I was affectionately referred to by my family as the hermit since I would hole up in my room with stacks of new books to read. So yes I too am thankful for the wonderful benefits that books have had in my life. From fiction to history, and of course my numerous classics! My daughter queries whether it is strange for her to love books so much since other kids in the 6th grade don’t read so much as she does and I say of course not! Books and literacy are the hallmarks of civilizations in my opinion. So lets be thankful for books indeed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

