Skip to content

Thankful Day 7

November 7, 2011
tags:

Today I’m thankful for my Hubby.  He is currently framing a house in freezing to below freezing temperatures.  He then comes home to a sick wife.  So he cheerfully gets me something to eat then makes himself and our son something to eat.  Despite all the ranting I can do about my husband, he is a pretty special man and I am so lucky that he WANTS to put up with me.  Not a job that many take on willingly.

I grew up with a father who worked two and three jobs the majority of my childhood.  He was so concerned about making the money to give us the “good life’ that he missed out on a lot of moments.  My father would have never come home and did what my husband did tonight.  I am constantly amazed at what a good person my husband is (and get amazingly angry when others take advantage of his good nature).

Yes, sometimes his priorities are not exactly what I would wish.  Yes he can be every bit as much of a workaholic as my dad (though for a little bit different reasons…my husband truly enjoys what he does for a living…the money is a bonus), but when Hubby is home, he is rarely moody.  He’s always willing to help me out or play with our son.  He’s never told me no when I wanted a book or a craft item.  He is always willing to help me out with my projects.  He thinks I look better when I don’t wear make-up and could care less if I shaved my legs.  We don’t have much in common other than our enjoyment in cooking.  He’s an outdoors man, I’m more of a lazy cat with an affinity for reading.  But somehow (probably through his great patience and our combined stubborness) we make it work.  So tonight I thank the Gods for my Husband.  May they bless us with a long happy, healthy marriage.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 7:18 AM

    I think my Rob and I started out with zero in common other than being human beings 🙂
    Now we are peas in a pod in most ways. Part of growing a marriage that the quick in-and-out folks miss out on. Hang in there, nurture the good, let the bad take care of itself.
    Get well soon~

    Like

    • November 8, 2011 8:10 AM

      [chuckles] Hubby and will have been together 22 years come February. I don’t see us getting much more alike.

      Thanks. I don’t feel as run down today but I probably have several more days of this cold, at least. Sleeping last night helped. Now if I could just talk my child into not waking me up for trivial things….

      Like

  2. Jan Rorschach permalink
    November 8, 2011 5:09 PM

    Thank you so much for finding and reading my blog. With so many out there I really appreciate you taking the time. Cheers!

    Like

    • November 8, 2011 5:16 PM

      I surf tags and your recipe for the cranberry vodka looked like a great hostess gift. Now to find something big enough to “brew” it in!

      Like

Leave a Reply

