Skip to content

Thankful Day 5

November 5, 2011
tags:

Let’s see…I found a nifty yule gift for my son and got to go for Mexican food with Hubby but  WITHOUT my son.  (I won’t mention the meltdown I had at the end of dinner.  Stupid hormones.)

Lately dinners have been a battlefield with our son.  The few times we go out, it’s like he orders what he wants and then decides he doesn’t like it before it can be delivered so precedes to fight with us the whole meal over eating it.  Or at home, we’ll sever something that he’s had before and liked and now suddenly doesn’t or is “afraid” to try or some other irritating nonsense.  We’ve found a way to deal though…(something that I suggested to my husband a long time ago but Hubby said no but recently changed his mind.)  If our son doesn’t eat his food at one meal, then he has to eat it at the next meal.  My son is NOT liking that at all but it IS starting to get him to eat our minimal requirements at that meal.

So any way, it was nice to have a good meal with good company and not having to say “just EAT!”.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 7:56 AM

    My mother was a big fan of that. She refused to cook multiple meals. So if you didn’t eat then your plate would go in the fridge until you were hungry enough to decide to eat it. Even if it sat there until your next meal. Needless to say we didn’t grow up picky eaters! I do that with my daughter to some degree. Ok you are “not hungry” well your plate will in the fridge and when you are hungry you can have that. Of course this is counteracting her dad spoiling her every summer.
    That said, having a private meal just the two of you is a must and I am glad you got to take some time to do that.

    Like

    • November 6, 2011 8:51 AM

      I wouldn’t make him a separate meal, he would just go hungry until the next meal. That didn’t bother him at all. Hubby finally (Mr. Infinite Patience) got fed up about 2 weeks ago and decided we ought to do this. When I pointed out that I suggested that some time ago, he just looked at me blankly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

