Skip to content

My All Hallows tarot reading

November 1, 2011

So last night before I crawled into bed utterly exhausted thanks to child issues and events.  I pulled a card to see if I needed to do a tarot reading.  I got Knight of Swords – Katkinnaku which shows a crow as a messenger.  I too that as a yes.  So I thing pulled some tarot cards that I looked at but didn’t try to understand in depth, leaving that for today.  I must say that I’m rather…please, excited, tickled, curious, etc. about the results.

I started off with a spread that I found on That’s Totally Tarot with a few minor tweaks to suit my personality.  Then to expand on a section of that spread, I used what I will start calling the Snapshot spread (the original spread I got from the lovely Submerina).  For both spreads I used the Animals Divine tarot deck.

Witch’s Hat Spread is shaped like a  triangle (I really think it needs one more row of 6 cards to make it look like an actual hat).  A good Halloween spread but I think it will be useful map of where one is at and what needs to be done.

  1. You, the wearer of the hat.  Ace of Pentacles – Guinea Pig:  tentatively exploring something new.
  2. What is stewing in the cauldron?  9 of Swords – Crow:  anxieties, fears, self-doubt
  3. Upon what spell are you working?  Page of Swords – Anahita (doves and peacock):  nothing gets done from a place of fear.  Dump out the cauldron, clean it out and work on acceptance for clarity and peace of mind.
  4. Who is your assistant?  Lovers (swans):  two lifetime messengers interested in strengthening the relationship
    1. Who? Three of Pentacles – Tiger:  A male warrior interested in practicalities.
    2. Who?  8 of Cups – Octopus:  A female who is interested in emotional/spiritual matters.
  5. What is their message?  3 of Cups – Polar Bear:  go ahead and plunge in yet celebrate in taking that first step, the hardest step of all.
  6. What tools do you need?  3 of Swords –  Vulture:  learn from your mistakes, treat them just as another item to mark off on a list (been there done that, NEXT!) give them no more power than that.

Now I know who the two guides are but I wanted to know more about them, so I used the Snapshot spread.  This spread will be useful for learning about someone, corporeal or not.  The first card is Tiger, the second Octa.  I kept out the two cards and then reshuffled and laid the cards out in a vertical list with two columns.

  1. What is their basic nature?
    1. Ace of Pentacles – Guinea Pig:  an explorer
    2. 10 of Cups – Whales:  wise, mysterious, spiritual, family oriented
  2. What do they love?
    1. High Priestess – Bast:  loves to follow were every curiosity leads.
    2. 10 of Swords – Heron:  to clean “house” and face issues head on.
  3. What do they hate?
    1. Queen of Pentacles – White Buffalo Woman:  domesticity
    2. Death – Sedna:  self-pity
  4. What feeds them?
    1. 6 of Pentacles – Prairie Dog:  a positive, go with the flow attitude
    2. Queen of Swords – Athena:  confidence and intellectual pursuits
  5. What repels them?
    1. 5 of Swords – Bat:  refusal to face ones fears
    2. 7 of Cups – Dolphin:  disorganization, lack of focus
  6. Best way to interact?
    1. 9 of Swords – Crow:  face your fears
    2. Wheel – All animals:  don’t resist change, don’t try to control.  Let go and trust you will be where you need to be.
  7. Quintessence
    1. Strength – Kwan Yin:  courage as benefits a warrior
    2. Wheel – All animals:  someone who has seen/done it all

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 10:27 AM

    Hey – very interesting spread! Would like to try this out myself
    x

    Like

  2. November 2, 2011 7:32 PM

    Wow. Do you know what people fit those descriptions for your assistants? That’s a pretty specific list of characteristics. Or are they more spirit guide types?

    Like

    • November 2, 2011 7:35 PM

      Spirit Guide types. I have two that I know a little bit about but haven’t been able to actually connect with them without the use of tarot. Most frustrating.

      Like

      • November 3, 2011 10:43 PM

        OK. That explains the near perfection of their characters, then. I mean, with my affection for cephalopods and my interest in clergy work, the first couple of cards could be me. I’m not all that confident and entirely too used to disorganization though, so that thought fell apart rather quickly. :^)

        Like

        • November 4, 2011 10:27 PM

          now if I could just find a more productive means of communication, I’d be doing well.

          Like

Leave a Reply

