Skip to content

Doily Dream Catcher

October 7, 2011

So I saw the idea for this craft here.  So while my mum was visiting, I took her to the local antique store housed in a Victorian era hardware store.  I stumbled across two different doilies in my favorite  pineapple pattern.  I just had to bring them home and try this.  I already had the hoop and crochet thread.  With mom’s help I strung the doilies.  Next time I was in Denver, I scrounged Hobby Lobby until I found crystals (on a Christmas ornament no less) to use.  They are plastic crystals instead of glass but I think they look fine, are lightweight and won’t shatter if dropped.  Using ribbon and hot glue, I finished them up today.  Hubby even helped out by installing the hooks on our windows.   (I tried to take a picture of them in the window but you couldn’t see them well enough…so my ever patient Hubby helped by holding them up in front of a kitchen cabinet.)

Doily Dream Catcher, number one.

Doily Dream Catcher, number two

Now all I need is some crystal spiders!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 2:13 AM

    This idea is amazing 😮 !
    I love those. It’s a so nice adaptation of this idea ^_^ (and I love the doily pattern <3)

    Like

    • October 8, 2011 7:25 AM

      Thanks. While it was relatively easy to do, it did require an extra set of hands to help with tying the knots.

      Like

  2. October 10, 2011 2:21 PM

    These are beautiful!

    PLN

    Like

  3. Valery Godino permalink
    January 26, 2014 9:32 PM

    My daughter want on of your crocket dream catchers. Details? Special order? Let us know. We’re excited!!!

    Like

    • January 26, 2014 10:50 PM

      Directions on how to make your own are in the blog above…click on the link in the first line.

      Like

Leave a Reply

