Skip to content

Happy Equinox

September 23, 2011

Today is the day that I choose to honor the start of Persephone’s journey that will return her to her beloved’s side.  The warm days are when she tarries in the world above.  The cold days are when she is rushing to the underworld.  Like it or not, she will be at the gates of Hades by midnight on All Hallow’s Eve.

To honor Persephone and give myself a visual reminder that no matter how long the winter is, she WILL return, I make a corn husk maiden.  This year I used cotton floss instead of twine.  I again stuffed flowers into her chest cavity then added a little color to her skirt.  In her arms I placed a chunk of citrine quartz which looks like crystallized sunshine to me.  This doll will hang in my kitchen until Persephone returns on May Day.  I then will burn it and scatter the ashes into garden and flower beds.

Once the maiden is dry, I will unravel the floss to make it look like she has more hair and maybe add some dried flowers to it.

My freshly made corn maiden in the process of drying.

My prayer for today can be seen here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 5:06 PM

    Nicely crafted corn doll 🙂 Happy Equinox

    Like

  2. Joy permalink
    September 26, 2011 10:37 AM

    It’s a very nice doll.

    Was Persephone really that much into Hades? I mean he basically kidnapped her and everything, I don’t imagine her being very fond of him.

    Like

    • September 26, 2011 3:13 PM

      There are many versions of this tale. Something you need to keep in mind is that the original meaning of “rape” was abduct. It didn’t necessarily mean sexual misconduct. There are some that say Kore was eager to escape her mother but wasn’t fully aware what that meant. I think she loved Hades but didn’t stop to think what living in the Underworld would be like. Now she has the best of both worlds…Hubby and power in one and mama, sunshine and pampering in the other.

      Here is my version, a modern one, on the Persephone tale.

      https://4ofwands.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/missing-person-report-persephone/

      Like

Leave a Reply

