Skip to content

Zeus: I am

August 18, 2011
tags: ,

I am what I am
A god of many forms
Not a rapist
Not a monster

I am the wind
Sculpting the world
Testing the strength
And resolve of all

I am the rain
Flowing over, around
Purifying miasma
Nourishing all life

I am the thunder
Rumbling like a drum
Through the sky and
Through the heart

I am lightning
Unpredictable movement
Instantly enlightening
Uncontrollable change

I am the storm
Hide from me
Or embrace me
Reveling in joy

I am the storm’d oak
Steadfast and true
of earth and sky
I reach for you.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Arianrhod permalink
    August 18, 2011 9:56 PM

    This poem reads like Zeus Himself. It is if the trees at Dodona whispered the words from His heart to yours.
    blessings,
    Arianrhod

    Like

  2. August 19, 2011 1:21 AM

    So melancholic… It speaks to me, to what I can feel of him sometimes.

    Like

    • August 19, 2011 8:04 AM

      I’m not sure it is melancholic but he does seem to tire of being mis-sed…as in misrepresented and misunderstood and mistaken for something he is not. Thanks.

      Like

  3. August 19, 2011 8:16 AM

    very nice! It is always wonderful to see such positive reflective poems written for Zeus. I am still trying to figure out how to get lines close together like that when I post my poetry.

    Like

    • August 19, 2011 8:31 AM

      Thanks. In this case, the inspiration for this poem was taken from one of the stories in the Zeus Devotional.

      As for the formatting, I go in under the HTML tab when I post to remove the extra spaces that WordPress insists on putting in.

      Like

  4. August 25, 2011 3:21 PM

    Love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

