Skip to content

Festival of Torches

August 13, 2011

This is a festival that honors Diana-Artemis/Hekate and takes place either on August 13th or on the August full moon.  Tonight happens to be both.  It is called this because of a torch light procession would make its way to a sanctuary on the shores of a sacred lake.  There devotees would place offerings, tie ribbons with prayer requests on the sanctuary fence, leave clay or bread shaped like body parts as healing requests.

Tonight I took a purple ribbon about a yard long and wrote upon it all of Hekate’s epithets that I could remember I also tied a  ribbon votive healing request to the epithet ribbon.  I then took a large vase and nested a tea light candle into it.  I said a prayer as I walked it outside (where it had recently rained) to our gate to the back/dog’s yard.  I then placed the candle on the ground at the base of the gate and tied the ribbon to the gate.  I said more prayers then came inside.  If the candle is not done before I go to bed, I’ll bring it in and place it on the indoor altar so I don’t worry about it so much (Hubby goes to bed LONG after I do).

A nifty, although simple, little ritual that I hope to do yearly.  I love the idea of the wind caring my praise to my lady every time it blows.  I would have loved to peer back in time to see how this festival was originally done or even have enough people to be able to do a modern procession to a local water element…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 10:27 PM

    I have been very bad in observing festivals for Artemis/Apollo because my year has just be chaotic to say the least lol and I don’t get enough time to myself to do anything longer than 15 mins at most and I was thinking alot about this festival during the week.so hopefully next year I will have done something.

    Like

    • August 13, 2011 10:38 PM

      You still have tomorrow too. (Usually the day before, the day of and they after is acceptable) Some people even celebrate this on the 15th. Grab some ribbon or string. If you can’t write on it, tie some knots with intent or just load it up with your energy. Light a candle or grab a modern torch aka a flashlight and go find something to tie your ribbon/string and you are good to go. (if you tie it high up or in an inconspicuous spot then you won’t have to deal with someone removing it. Your celebration, your offering doesn’t have to be elaborate or time consuming. The fact that you took the time and did something despite the chaos is what is important.

      Like

Leave a Reply

