Skip to content

Osama Bin Laden’s death

May 2, 2011

Am I sorry he is dead?  No.  Am I happy that he is dead?  No.

Bin Laden’s death causes as many, if not more, problems as it solved.  Frankly, I’m a bit surprised at the big hoopla his death and the method of his death has caused.  Did he cause a lot of problems? Yes.  Did the actions entailed in finding him cause many problems?  I’m sure it did.  Was he THAT important to the Middle East even as a symbol?  I don’t think so but time will tell.  I think his death is more of a gruesome feel-good measure for both victims and survivors of 9/11 and for the troops.

Many are saying we can now pull out of the Middle East.  Ummm no.  The US is going to need to be there for the long haul.  We didn’t pull out of Germany right away and neither should we pull out of the Middle East quickly either.  We need to see the job through.  The first time we pulled out too quickly, during Daddy Bush’s presidency, problems were not resolved and we had to go back.  If we pull out too quickly, the same will happen again.  The area needs stabilization before we can risk  pulling out.  I’m not happy with this.  I have friends and family putting their lives on the line for this, but I think it is a necessity.

In the long run, Bin Laden’s death is a mere blip on the screen.  Not worth the celebration or rancor it is generating.  While I was surprised at where and how quickly they chose to bury him, I understand it was due to Muslim tradition and the desire to not have a shrine erected over his body.  I believe this will also generate a lot of conspiracy theories along with the hesitation to display the photos of his body.  This is a case of damned if you do and damned if you don’t for the military and the US government.

I can but hope that this is a chapter near the end of the issue and not one closer to the beginning or middle.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephen Glaser permalink
    May 2, 2011 10:26 PM

    I thought it was interesting that it happened on Beltane, eight years to the day Bush said “Mission Accomplished”. Many, many things seem to happen on this day, also. I wish I had bothered to record them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

