Skip to content

Hermes’ new sacred space

December 15, 2009
tags: ,

I got Hermes’ new sacred space hung tonight.  It is a square shelf that hangs next to my front door.  When I asked him permission to move his sacred space, this was what I envisioned for his new space.  It came about exactly as I saw and I even got the shelf for a very good price.  Today I ordered a plaque that will hang nicely within it.

I wiped down the shelf with purified water (salted water with a flaming branch dropped into it).  I then did a small procession with his symbol and picture to the new space.  I then offered him some cinnamon liqueur.  As I read a prayer during the dedication rite, I sneezed right after asking him to guard my goods from his pupils.  I took that as his affirmation and pleasure with the new space. (Right after I sneezed I remembered something I read about a nymph sneezing after one of Zeus’ pronouncements which was taken as an affirmation that what Zeus said would occur.)

Below is something I wrote back in September but it seems appropriate to repost it from my (retired) LJ now.

Hermes
Though I speak your name not
in the various letterings
that I have urge to write,
know that in writing them
I honor you also.
I never needed to write,
not a single letter,
until you entered that rite
and set me to giggling.
Whatever gambling game
you played to win me
from ivy-tressed Dionysos
has caused me to continually
write, praise, laugh and honor
both daimons and deities.
Hail Hermes, silver tongued thief,
Gambling Fiend and Irreverent One.
May I continue to honor you
Through my offerings to others.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

