Skip to content

Getting to know Tykhe, (Aphrodite?)

May 28, 2009

So I’ve been following the call to learn more about Tykhe. I feel like she is infinitely more complicated than what the surviving texts say about her. I know all the Gods are, but she seems to be one of the older ones. From what I’ve worked out, Tykhe IS the Moirai (aka Fates). Each of the Moirai seems to be one of her aspects. (spin, measure, cut; birth, life, death; maiden, mother, crone, etc.) Yet it seems there is possible forth aspect that I’m having trouble getting my head around.

Or maybe it could be said that Tykhe is an aspect of another, more well known goddess…Aphrodite. (I’m not sure about this but I’ve had some finger pointing happening. I’m afraid to go there simply because I worry it is my tendency to want to simplify and reduce. And Aphrodite has already experienced way too much of that. The modern spin or perception has already reduced Aphrodite from who she really seems to be. A love goddess. A sex goddess. But there are hints of more to her. Hints of her connection to death, to life, to war. And then in Athens she was called “the eldest fate”.) But that doesn’t feel right. It feels more like there was this very old goddess (one of several not like the Wicca’s view of the Goddess who they say is all goddesses) was broke into pieces to make her more…digestible…Tykhe, Moirai, Aphrodite are aspects of HER. The whole thing makes my head ache, like someone is rearranging parts of my brain.  (Through the crown chahkra and smacking against the inside of my skull near the back of my head.  I get headaches often but this just feels strange and achey.  Aren’t I bizare.)

Any way, long story short, I asked Zeus (via tarot cards) what I could do for him to day and he referred me to Tykhe. So I pulled out a different deck and asked Tykhe who she was. Below is my response.

Tykhe’s response

I am old.
Older than the Greek civilization.
Yet I still have relevance.
Take up my cult
I will carry you far.

I am change and challenge.
I am prosperity and choices.
Make your decision, don’t waffle.
I will give guidance or reassurance,
Just ask

You reap, what you sew
And I am the reaper.
All is on a cycle.
What is put out, returns.
Do not blame me for short comings
I only keep the wheel steady.

Look to the moon
It is change and movement.
Birth, life, death.
Honor me at the moon,
full for the life you have.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 5:44 PM

    Wow, this is absolutely amazing. What deck did She speak to you through?

    Like

  2. May 30, 2009 3:23 PM

    I would question the Aphrodite connection — doesn’t feel right, feels like it diminishes both of them. And I’m pretty sure you’ve already found this website, but I thought it raised some interesting thimks: http://www.theoi.com/Daimon/Tykhe.html
    Best and blessings — :Dana
    (followed you here from PaganTable)

    Like

  3. May 30, 2009 3:24 PM

    This was fun too: http://www.theoi.com/Cult/TykheCult.html

    Like

    • May 30, 2009 7:53 PM

      Hi Dana! This is an interesting quote below. Now I don’t remember Eros appearing with any female other than his mother (in ancient representations)…
      (taken from the cult page)
      Pausanias, Description of Greece 7. 26. 8 :
      “I remember observing at Aigeira [in Akhaia] a building in which was an image of Tykhe (Fortune) carrying the horn of Amaltheia. By her side is a winged Eros (Love), the moral of which is that even success in love depends for mankind on fortune rather than on beauty. Now I am in general agreement with Pindar’s ode, and especially with his making Tykhe one of the Moirai (Fates), and more powerful than her sisters.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

