Skip to content

Heliogenna 2013

December 17, 2013

Today starts Heliogenna, a modern Hellenic polytheist festival.  I celebrate this over the course of 9 days.  Since it is just me (with the occasional addition of my son), I don’t do anything elaborate.  Mostly just prayers and offerings each day.  The 9 days are arranged so that Solstice is always day 5.  This year Heliogenna starts on December 17th.  I will briefly explain each day.  (As the festival progresses, I will add links to the prayers I used/updated.  Finding pictures has been most difficult.)

Day 1:  Honor the Protogenoi or First Ones (I include the nymphs/nature spirits/Naturekin here.)
Day 2:  Honor the Olympians and Celestial Gods
Day 3:  Honor the Khthonic Gods (typically I have honored my Ancestors on this day but I’m giving them a complete day this year)
Day 4:  On this day I celebrate the reconciliation of Demeter with Persephone and Hades. A reconciliation that encourages us all to forgive those who have injured us.
Day 5:  Winter Solstice, I honor Helios and the return of the light.
Day 6:  Honor the Ancestors (formerly, I honored Mothers on this day both mortal and immortal but I like the idea of being more equal opportunity).
Day 7:  Give Thanks.  Show appreciation to your gods, your family, your coworkers, etc.  A good day for random acts of kindness.
Day 8 and 9:  Days to be with friends and family.  To celebrate the joys of the season and the bonds of love.  (I purposely time these days to fall on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day…which means some years the Day of Thanks is day 9 instead of Day 7).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2013 11:39 PM

    I do like this system.

    Like this

    • December 22, 2013 9:13 AM

      Thanks me too. As with everything in my practice, it is a work in progress but I like it enough that I’ve done some version of this for a number of years now.

      Like this

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

