Skip to content

PBP: Nyx, Goddess of the Night

July 13, 2012

Nyx, Goddess of the Night,
Primeval Lady, Starry One
Born of Khaos, Wife of Darkness,
Mother of Light, of Day
And of a darker brood.
Wing’d One or Charioteer,
I love to watch thee overtake the day.
Thy shadow slowly covers the garish light,
allowing me to see the far-off places
which I will not visit in this lifetime.
On thy dusky train ride Sleep and Dreams,
sometimes aloof or harsh,
sometimes gentle and kind.
Hide not, Oh Mighty Lady, from my sight
those that use your night for evil ends,
but aid me in protecting me and mine,
so that we can continue to enjoy your arrival
as thy shadow once again hides the light.

 

Some of my favorite songs call to mind this goddess…

 

“a year of exploring the Pagan world through blogging”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. heraqles permalink
    July 13, 2012 10:05 PM

    I never quite saw Night in such a manner, your hymn to Nyx, Goddess of the Night was inspiring and comforting to me. It was liken to a blanket being spread over the world and over me, keeping me safe. I liked it!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. PBP: Yearbook « 4 of Wands

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

