Skip to content

Happy Equinox

March 20, 2012

Happy Equinox!

I hope your equinox is warmer than mine.  Current temperature is 23 degrees.  [Shivers]  The above  picture started something…something that I’m going to give you. (Well give my fellow stitchers any way…)  Something that took 6-8 hours to design…

Happy Spring Egg

Happy Spring, Happy Equinox!  This egg  has a bit of symbolism and some of it was unintended, some was insisted upon (Dioskouroi daffodils…no idea why but they kept coming to mind when designing them).  There is moon flowers, bunnies (chocolate and vanilla maybe? or Persephone and Hermes or is it Hades? Hmmm…), world tree, eggs and equinox symbolism.

So if I do this correctly, you should be able to get the color chart with the legend below it (copy and paste into a work processing program as I can’t figure out a better way).  If you can’t get something or if something is confusing, please comment so that I can correct it, explain it or email it to you.  Unfortunately, my program will not export a manner that  makes the backstitch floss color obvious.  Stitch the lines of the sun first, as 4 long stitches and then cross-stitch the circle over them.  French knot stars can be replaced by beads if you prefer.

Copyright Aj “Feisty Kat” Brokaw 2012. Free to share but may not be kitted or sold. (Click on picture for full size)

Title:                       Happy Spring Egg
Author:                  Aj “Feisty Kat” Brokaw
Copyright:             Spring 2012
Grid Size:               62W x 75H
Design Area:         4.00″ x 4.93″  (56 x 69 stitches)

Legend: Stitches
”               DMC Cotton White  white
#               DMC Cotton 725    topaz
$               DMC Cotton 702    kelly green
%               DMC Cotton 601    cranberry – dk
&               DMC Cotton 727    topaz – vy lt
‘               DMC Cotton 699    christmas green
(               DMC Cotton 938    coffee brown – ul dk
)               DMC Cotton 820    royal blue – vy dk
*               DMC Cotton 3827  golden brown – pl
,               DMC Cotton 3778  terra cotta – lt
–               DMC Cotton 977    golden brown – lt
/               DMC Cotton 700    christmas green – br
2               DMC Cotton 809    delft blue
3               DMC Cotton 975    golden brown – dk
7               DMC Cotton 762    pearl gray – vy lt
8               DMC Cotton 519    sky blue
9               DMC Cotton 728    golden yellow
:               DMC Cotton 433    brown – md
 
Legend: FrenchKnots
DMC Cotton 938    coffee brown – ul dk
DMC Cotton 728    golden yellow
 
Legend: BackStitch Lines
DMC Cotton 601    cranberry – dk – lettering
DMC Cotton 727    topaz – vy lt – moon flower interior
DMC Cotton 699    christmas green –  leaves, stems
DMC Cotton 938    coffee brown – ul dk
DMC Cotton 798    delft blue – dk –  eggs
DMC Cotton 519    sky blue – moon flowers
DMC Cotton 728    golden yellow – sun

If someone gets this stitched and sends me a copy of your work, I’ll post it here with full credit.  (I just don’t have the wherewithal to get it stitched in anything resembling a reasonable time period.)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. tempewytch permalink
    March 20, 2012 1:24 PM

    Happy Equinox and I wish I could stitch this but can’t 😦

    Like

  2. Jennie Knight permalink
    March 20, 2012 4:52 PM

    AJ, Thank you for such a cute spring design. I think I will stitch it on perdorated paper. With a ribbon it will make a nice addition to my spring tree.

    Jennie

    Like

    • March 20, 2012 5:32 PM

      You are welcome but keep in mind there are a number of fractional stitches which doesn’t work on perforated paper unless you plan on doing it rather large. 🙂

      Like

  3. March 20, 2012 5:38 PM

    Happy Equinox 🙂 And just so youdon’t feel bad…it was 10 degrees here 😛 So I am shivering right along with you lol

    Like

  4. teally permalink
    March 22, 2012 10:09 AM

    Happy Equinox to all This is a very lovely cross stitch … I wish I knew how to do that… I wonder if I could cross it over to a crochet project would be interesting to find out.

    Like

  5. March 28, 2012 1:52 AM

    It’s cute Melia. Thanks, I may make a little pillow for my mom! It’s nice and springy.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Spring Equinox! | 4 of Wands

Leave a comment